31st Season - Concert Schedule

September 1977 to March 1978

All 5 concerts performed at Cricklade Theatre

Thursday, 29th September 1977

Beethoven Sonata No. 4 in E flat Op. 7
Debussy Preludes from Book 1
C. P. E. Bach Twelve Variations on La Folie d'Espagne
Schubert Sonata in C minor DV 958

Concert 1 - 7:30pm

Martin Hughes

(Piano Recital)

Friday, 28th October 1977

"The Barber of Seville"
Comic Opera in Two Acts by Gioachino Rossini
(English version by Edward J. Dent)
Act I Scene I A street outside Dr. Bartolo's house
in Seville, dawn
Act I Scene II A room in Dr. Bartolo's house, later
the same morning
Act II A room in Dr. Bartolo's house.
The same evening.

Concert 2 - 7:30pm

Opera for All

Cast details for this performance are unclear

Lesley-Anne Sammons - Piano

Thursday, 24th November 1977

Mozart Piano Quartet in C minor K. 478
Turina Piano Quartet in A minor
Brahms Piano Quartet in C minor

Concert 3 - 7:30pm

The English Piano Quartet

Diana Cummings - Violin
Rusen Gunes - Viola
Peter Willison - Cello
John York - Piano

Thursday, 12th January 1978

Rossini Overture, Italian Girl in Algiers
Mozart Symphony No. 33 in B flat K. 319
de Falla Concerto for Harsichord and Orchestra
Wagner Siegfried Idyll
Beethoven Symphony No. 1 in C

Concert 4 - 7:30pm

Bournemouth Sinfonietta

Volker Wangenheim - Conductor
Ronald Thomas - Leader
Kathryn Stott - Piano

Thursday, 2nd March 1978

Eugene Bozza Andante et Scherzo
arr. Paul Harvey Mediaeval Music
Paul Amma Petite Suite
Paul Patterson Diversions: Gusty; Blowing Blue;
Sea Breeze
Paul Harvey and
Maxwell Holgate
A Dedication to Michael Krein
    Jazz and Fun and Things
    Robert Burns Suite

Concert 5 - 7:30pm

The London Saxophone Quartet

Paul Harvey - Soprano Saxophone
Peter Ripper - Alto Saxophone
Christopher Gradwell - Tenor Saxophone
David Lawrence - Baritone Saxophone

Season 31 A.G.M.

Tuesday, 14th March 1978

Annual General Meeting, 8:00pm


15 Winchester Gardens,

31st Season Committee
Chairman: Dr. A. G. Blyth   Mrs. E. Walker
Deputy Chairman: Mrs. M. Ponting   Mr. M. Martin
Secretary: Miss Gladys New   Mr. S. Jennings
Treasurer: Mr. R. Burton   Mr. M. Watts
  Mrs. E. Graham   Major R. Adey

Putting these history pages together we can see how many gaps exist in our records. If you have access to any of the information that is clearly marked as missing then do please let us know:- by email to the or the - alternatively; refer to the contact information available on the About AMC page or talk to a committee member at one of our concerts.

Copyright © 2004-2019 Andover Music Club

Website Design Andover